Young Adult Project

Young Adult Project (YAP)Staff with YAP student

 The Young Adult Project is not classroom based, but rather, is a coordinated set of community based activities that is student led with the guidance of a teacher consultant and teacher assistant and is geared towards transitioning the student towards their post-secondary vision and goals.

  • YAP is not a program or a classroom, but rather a coordinated set of services provided in the adult’s community.
  • Each student utilizes a variety of agency supports, (Michigan Rehabilitative Services (MRS), Community Supports and Treatment Services (CSTS), Community Mental Health (CMH), and the WISD) community transportation, friends and family.
  • The young adult agrees to engage in adult problem-solving and adult scheduling and can do so with a level of independence. 

 

Young Adult Project Overall Goals and Practice

  • The Young Adult develops a plan that includes sustainable resources
  • Increased self-advocacy into the adult system
  • Seamless transition to post-school adult services
  • Involved in the community, recreation, leisure and adult daily living
  • Participating in work or making progress toward sustainable work settings
  • Consideration of independent living situations, with support as needed 
  • Work towards a student’s maximum potential for independence in their community
  • Involved in satisfying and productive activities for themselves and/or their community

 

Young Adult Project Supervisor

Erik Thompson - ethompson@washtenawisd.org

1819 S. Wagner Rd. Ann Arbor, MI 48106

Ph. (734) 994-8100 ext. 1545 Fax. (734) 994-2203

 

Young Adult Program Administrative Support

Nancy Blair - nblair@washtenawisd.org

1819 S. Wagner Rd. Ann Arbor, MI 48106

Ph. (734) 994-8100 ext. 1545 Fax. (734) 994-2203

 

Young Adult Project Staff

Dawn Keith - Teacher Consultant: dkeith@washtenawisd.org

Devvon Wilce – Teacher Consultant:  dwilce@washtenawisd.org

John Rose – Teacher Consultant:  Jrose@washtenawisd.org

Katrina Fitzpatrick – Teacher Consultant:  kfitzpatrick@washtenawisd.org

Myra Fox – Teacher Consultant/Michigan Rehabilitation Services (MRS) mfox@washtenawisd.org

Walter J. Kwik – Transition Coordinator/Michigan Rehabilitation Services (MRS) wjkwik@washtenawisd.org