Special Education Administrative Contacts

In collaboration with local districts, Washtenaw Intermediate School District provides administrative support to special education students, their families and staff.

The role of the special education administrator is to supervise, coordinate and support special education programs and services. They are responsible for program planning and direction, staff and student support, implementation special education rules, allocation of resources, communication with parents and family, curriculum development and student achievement.

District Contacts

Ann Arbor  |  Chelsea  |  Dexter  |  Lincoln  |  Manchester  |  Milan  |  Saline  |  Whitmore Lake  |  Ypsilanti  |  Washtenaw ISD

Ann Arbor

Dr. Elaine Brown
Executive Director
994-2318
brownel@aaps.k12.mi.us

Chelsea

Lisa Nickel
Director
433-2200 x2006
lnickel@chelsea.k12.mi.us

Dexter

Anne Nakon
Director
424-4100 x6052
nakona@dexterschools.org

Lincoln

Robert Williams
Director
484-7000 x7870
williamsr@lincolnk12.org

Manchester

Gary Puhl
Director of Special Education
428-9711 x1145
gpuhl@mcs.k12.mi.us

Milan

Lon Smith
Director
439-5013
smithl@milanareaschools.org

Saline

Molly Garcia
Director
401-4010
garciam@salineschools.org

Whitmore Lake

Melissa Hueker
Director
449-4715 x4013
Melissa.Heuker@wlps.net

Ypsilanti

Ruth Jordan
Interim Director
221-1953
rjordan7@ycschools.us

Washtenaw ISD

Cherie Vannatter
Asst. Superintendent, Achievement and Student Services
994-8100 x1543
cvannatter@washtenawisd.org